What is Iyengar Yoga

“Iyengar” is listed in the Oxford English Dictionary as: “Noun: A type of Ashtanga yoga focusing on the correct alignment of the body, making use of straps, wooden blocks, and other objects as aids to achieving the correct postures. Origin: Named after B. K. S. Iyengar (born 1918), the Indian yoga teacher who devised this method.”

There are hundreds of yoga studios around the world that teach “Iyengar Yoga”. One becomes a teacher in this tradition only after rigorous training, practice and apprenticeship lasting many years.

Mr. Iyengar always maintained that Yoga is One, and he only teaches the eight-fold path of yoga as laid down by Sage Patañjali in Yoga Sutra.

“Yoga is one but people call it by different names…Iyengar is my name. My yoga is not Iyengar Yoga. I only codified it… It is a subject which I am teaching which was taught by my Guru who learnt from his Guru. So it is a lineage.”

Prānāyāma in Iyengar Yoga

“There is a difference between involuntary breathing which is zigzag; deep breathing which is a rough, forceful physiological movement; and prānayāmic breathing in which the energy seeps and touches from the core of the being to the periphery, and from the periphery to the core.”

“Breath is a form of nourishment. Forcing breath is a form of greed.”

Yoga Sutra of Patañjali unequivocally states that the practice of āsana is very important to derive benefits of prānayāma. Only once the body is under control, the spine firm, and nerves calm, can one start prānayāma. In prānayāma practices, the nostrils, nasal passages and membranes, the windpipe, the lungs and the diaphragm are the only parts of the body which feel the full impact of prāna, the breath of life. Improper practice of prānayāma lead to respiratory diseases and the nervous system is shattered. Therefore, while the conditioning and culturing of breath starts as soon as the āsana practice begins, prānayāma is introduced to students only after they have developed some proficiency in their āsanapractice.

Integration of the Eight Limbs of Astanga Yoga in Iyengar Yoga

“All the eight petals of yoga are interlinked and interwoven. If one petal is explicit, others are implicit, and that is how yoga works.”

A unique concept in Mr. Iyengar’s teaching is that he does not distinguish the limbs of Astanga Yoga as separate. He has demonstrated how yama and niyama can be observed in āsana and prānayāma. How pratyāhāra is to be attained in and through āsana and prānayāma; and how dhārana, dhyāna and samādhi can form an integral part of āsana and prānayāma.

More Information

The official website of Iyengar Yoga

More in the Resources section here

In order to ensure that these most basic concepts are not coloured by our interpretation, the text in this section is largely derived from publications written by Mr. B.K.S. Iyengar, or put out by RIMYI/ other Iyengar Yoga Associations around the world. All copyrights on content are held by the original sources.

References for the content in this section:

Guruji – An exhibition displayed by the students of RIMYI, Pune as part of Guruji’s 90th birthday celebrations held in Pune.

“What is Yoga”, B.K.S. Iyengar, page 24-25, Yoga Rahasya, Volume 18, No. 3, 2011