Online Program for Intermediate Level
(for the period January 2021 to April 2021)

For new students, Online Programs start with a week-long trial period from the date of sign-up.
Superior quality recording of all livestream sessions made available for a week.

Find details of the Hybrid Program (Online + in-studio classes) here

Session 1

Live-stream session
duration: 75min, followed by Q and A
day: Monday
time: 7:00 – 8:15am

Session 2

Recorded session alternating with general level live-stream session on alternate weeks
duration: livestream sessions: 75 min; recorded session: 60-75 min
day and time for the livestream session: alternate Wednesdays, 7:00 to 8:15 am

Quarterly Weekend workshop

Once in a quarter, a 2 hour workshop (instead of the two weekly sessions)

Fees for the Online Intermediate Program: Rs 1,800/ month

*Times are in Indian Standard Time (+5:30 GMT). Some indicative conversions: 2:30am London, 3:30am Durban; 5:30am Dubai; 9:30am Singapore; 10:30am Tokyo; 11:30am Sydney, 6:30pm (prev. day) San Francisco; 9:30pm (prev. day) New York.

The schedule and the fees listed here are effective till April 2021.

Considerations for Intermediate-level practitioners

This is perhaps the group most suited to this format of learning. As students ourselves, we recognise that sometimes what we are looking for is not teaching, but a cohort – a sangha – to inspire us, and to spark new ideas. We welcome you to join us in our practice.

The transition from ‘Beginner’ to ‘Intermediate’ level is subjective. More than being able to ‘do’ advanced postures, it is expected the the practitioner has an established self-practice, and has developed an attitude of self-enquiry and reflection.

We expect that intermediate level practitioners know how to make adaptations for intermediate levels asanas (we do often show alternatives in the sessions), and can do the basic inversions (sirsasana and sarvangasana), as well as independent backward extensions with appropriate support as required. If there is an underlying medical condition, Intermediate level practitioners should also know which positions/ actions are contra-indicated for them, and should be able to choose alternatives/ adaptations.

Considerations and resources if you practice yoga in other traditions

Our online classes will give you a sense of teaching and learning in the Iyengar tradition. There might not be major differences in the overall presentation of asanas in the different traditions, but the vocabulary of instructions, the use of props, the focus on specific aspects, can change quite a bit. Even if you are a fairly experienced practitioner, if you have had no experience of practicing in the Iyengar tradition, we advise enrolling in the Beginners program for a month before moving to the Intermediate level program. Bear in mind that the pace of the asanas, the grouping and sequencing, can vary significantly from one class to another, and in fact, across the seasons of the year. To make sense of the overall scheme, we encourage you to practice with patience, and with an open mind.

Begin here…